The other day in St Vinnies I picked up a delightfully illustrated paperback. I must admit, I was judging the book by its cover, and the score was high.

It was this book here:

It was only $7 and I was about to purchase it when my brother informed me that he’d actually bought that book for Dad, for Christmas, with a similar cover, although not as nice, but I could just save my money and read that copy instead. And that the book wasn’t that amazing after all. So I placed it back on the shelf.

But now that I’ve seen this delicious image on Design is Mine

and followed the link to the artist’s website – Chris Silas Neal – and found out that he is the artist behind the illustrations I held in my hand, plus many, many more lovely others such as these….

…I wish I hadn’t listened to my brother after all. What do you think? Should I have purchased the book?!

Do you like to judge a book by its cover too? What are you reading right now?

P.S For your Information: Wildbirds & Peacedrums is a Swedish band, and I think I like ’em! Well, from the 30 seconds of preview itunes gives you…purchasing now!

