I’ve sucessfully lasted three whole weeks at my new job – favourite aunty/nanny extraordinaire. It’s been exhausting learning how to manage, entertain, feed, bath, play, assist with sleep, encourage crawling and sympathise as teeth pop through but I think I’m getting the hang of it*. The hardest part is getting up so early in the morning! I am NOT a morning person by nature and no matter how early I try to go to bed I usually just lie there tossing and turning, yelling at myself to get some sleep.
But the plus side of my early morning starts is that I get to see the sunrise over Sydney Harbour as I catch the ferry to Manly. What a way to travel! I feel like I am adventuring on the high seas or in some 19th century classic romance novel that I probably wouldn’t actually enjoy reading but it feels good to imagine all the same.
Sometimes the weather is a little gloomy….
But mostly I just feel happy to be alive.

*I’ve started having power naps when my little man goes down for sleeps. Works wonders! Win win situation. Getting paid to nap has to be my dream job!